Author Topic: Several Forms  (Read 978 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WilliGrundmann

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Several Forms
« on: April 29, 2020, 03:13:24 AM »
Hi,

Is there a way to have several forms, which can be controlled by a single QB64 program?

It would be good, if there was a way to switch between the forms - perhaps via a button or menu item.

Best Regards

Willi

Offline TempodiBasic

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1628
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2020, 04:12:26 PM »
Hi Willi
welcome to the forum of QB64 and Inform.

you can find interesting this example: it is a workaround about to have many different forms all together
https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=294.msg1800#msg1800

while here you can get more INFORMations about Inform
https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=958.msg101541#msg101541

If you want more windows managed by one program for now it seems behind the QB64 structure.
Programming isn't difficult, only it's  consuming time and coffee

Offline WilliGrundmann

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2020, 03:39:43 AM »
Hi TempbodiBasic,

Thank you for the help and the example.

I understand now that hiding and disabling controls allows to use the same space for different features.

Best Regards

Willi

Offline niktorthenat

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2020, 01:09:30 PM »
Sorry for my english, but I speak italian.
I have made some video tutorial in Youtube and in this video, I explain how open several Form, also with exchange of variables

without variables:

with exchange variables:


NiktorTheNat

Offline TempodiBasic

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 1628
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2020, 07:11:59 AM »
Hi NiktorTheNat

Welcome to QB64 community

I hope that the video is self-explaining for the other users of this community.

Interesting use of CHAIN and COMMON SHARED as in the old days of QB45.

It is a way more confortable in the place of use a dinamic form like I tried some time ago.
It has the same issue to let to use more windows but one at time, so also this your solution IMHO  is a semi-solution to the request of multiforms' application.

This is the cause that brings me to experiment to construct a window child system . See here https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php?topic=2124.0

Thanks to share you idea and project
Programming isn't difficult, only it's  consuming time and coffee

Offline FellippeHeitor

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2712
  • LET IT = BE
    • QB64.org
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2020, 09:51:57 AM »
It was crazy watching your videos, NiktorTheNat! Thank you so much for your interest in both QB64 and in InForm. Thanks for helping spread the word through YouTube!

Welcome to the forum!

Fellippe.

Offline FellippeHeitor

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2712
  • LET IT = BE
    • QB64.org
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2020, 10:02:07 AM »
BTW: When you make the PasswordField property = False, you can trigger a redraw by making Control(txtFacebook).Redraw = True, so that you won't have to hover the mouse on the text box just to change status.

Offline niktorthenat

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2020, 11:20:22 AM »
BTW: When you make the PasswordField property = False, you can trigger a redraw by making Control(txtFacebook).Redraw = True, so that you won't have to hover the mouse on the text box just to change status.

Thank you so much Fellippe. Grazie!

Offline SpriggsySpriggs

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 672
  • If you're API and you know it clap your hands
    • My GitHub
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2020, 09:37:25 AM »
That's some cool videos on using CHAIN. I've never used chain before but I might now!

Offline gaslouk

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 28
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2020, 09:45:11 AM »
Hi guys.

Surely there will be other commands like the Chain that are still unknown to us.

Good afternoon from Greece.

Offline FellippeHeitor

  • QB64 Developer
  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 2712
  • LET IT = BE
    • QB64.org
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2020, 09:46:46 AM »
Hi. Bear in mind that CHAIN considers your program is still running in QB64's folder, since it'll act like SHELL but if the binary isn't found it'll trigger a compilation.

That makes it barely portable.

Offline SpriggsySpriggs

  • Forum Resident
  • Posts: 672
  • If you're API and you know it clap your hands
    • My GitHub
Re: Several Forms
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2020, 09:41:05 AM »
For portability you can take all the exe files that you intend to CHAIN and put them into an SFX archive that will be used as an EXE that way all the files stay with the main executable that you wish to CHAIN from. This solves the portability issue.